FixMyTransport is now closed to new submissions. The site is available as an archive for you to browse, but you can no longer report problems. Find out more…

“Please help me persuade Transport for London to fix this: Fewer 59 buses in morning rush hour?” – Sarah Thompson

Description

Sarah Thompson

There seem to be far fewer buses on the 59 route recently than for other services eg: 159/133 between 8am - 8.30 am weekdays.

The extended intervals between buses mean that they are frequently full when arriving (often not stopping) at the Vassall Road stop.

It seems to be a popular route therefore I would think the solution could be at least one more bus/smaller intervals?

I would welcome any feedback on this issue

Sarah Thompson

Problem History

  • 1 Sarah Thompson reported the issue on FixMyTransport. close 13:23 09 May 2012
  • 2 Sarah Thompson wrote to Transport for London close 13:23 09 May 2012

    Here is the letter that Sarah Thompson wrote.

    Fewer 59 buses in morning rush hour?

    There seem to be far fewer buses on the 59 route recently than for other services eg: 159/133 between 8am - 8.30 am weekdays.

    The extended intervals between buses mean that they are frequently full when arriving (often not stopping) at the Vassall Road stop.

    It seems to be a popular route therefore I would think the solution could be at least one more bus/smaller intervals?

    I would welcome any feedback on this issue

    Sarah Thompson

  • 3 [email address] responded to Sarah Thompson close 13:25 09 May 2012
    Thank you for your email. We can now confirm that this has been
    received.

    For further information about the Surface Transport Complaints
    and Feedback Policy including timescales, please see
    [1]http://www.tfl.gov.uk/corporate/about-tf...

    Problems with roadworks or other street faults? In support of
    the Mayor’s Streetworks Code of Conduct to help cut congestion,
    please report these issues by visiting
    [2]http://www.tfl.gov.uk/roadusers/reportas...

    show quoted sections

    References

    Visible links
    1. http://www.tfl.gov.uk/corporate/about-tf...
    2. http://www.tfl.gov.uk/roadusers/reportas...
  • 4 [email address] responded to Sarah Thompson close 15:52 13 Jun 2012
     

    Our ref: 1010664548/TL

    Date: 12.06.2012

    Dear Ms Thompson

    Thank you for your feedback regarding the unreliability issues
    you have faced with the 59 bus route. I am grateful for the time
    you have taken to get in touch.

    I can assure you that Transport for London (TfL) aims to provide
    an efficient and reliable service for all our passengers.  I'm
    sorry if you feel disappointed with the service you have been
    receiving. As a regular bus traveller myself, I totally
    understand how frustrating it is when there are problems with
    the bus service. We're committed to providing a first class bus
    service for our customers. To achieve this, we need to ensure
    that our buses are reliable and convenient. Our timetables are
    planned to ensure that we provide a regular and even service,
    taking issues such as traffic congestion in to account.

    Our route controllers work to maintain a consistent service, but
    road conditions can change suddenly at any time. All routes can
    be affected by unexpected delays caused by problems such as
    traffic accidents, roadworks or illegal parking. This can mean
    passengers may have to wait longer than expected for their bus.

    Let me assure you that we continually monitor the bus network to
    ensure that routes are meeting their performance targets or
    identify any that are not. Where a problem becomes apparent, our
    Performance team will work with the operating company concerned
    to overcome it.  In this instance there are delays to the route
    that is causing the overcrowding issues you have faced. The
    service should run about 5-9 minutes at the stated time, but it
    is not. There are some roadworks currently affecting the route,
    but as you have mentioned that the overcrowding is a regular
    occurrence, I have passed your comments to our Performance team
    and have asked them to remedy this situation and make sure that
    a repeat does not occur in the future.

    You may be interested to know that we monitor service quality on
    bus services in several ways:

    Every 12 weeks we carry out Quality of Service Indicator (QSI)
    surveys. These measure the reliability of a route and focus on
    regularity and punctuality. Mystery Traveller Surveys and
    Customer Satisfaction Surveys are carried out monthly and
    monitor the quality of service from a customer perspective.

    We may also commission extra surveys if we are concerned about
    particular problems on a route, such as overcrowding.  These
    surveys can help us decide what changes may need to be made to
    improve a service.

    In addition, our Network Development team carry out a detailed
    evaluation of each route every five years, as part of the route
    tendering process. These measure areas such as how many people
    board the bus at any given point, where passengers are
    travelling to and from, and how many passengers use the bus each
    day. The results of these surveys allow us to ensure that we’re
    providing the best possible service right across London.

    Once again thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to
    my attention.  It is of great benefit to have passenger feedback
    to identify room for improvement.  Please feel free to get in
    touch if there is anything further I can do to help.

    Yours sincerely,

    Transport for London Customer Service Advisor

    DO NOT DELETE.............................
    {ticketno:[2717454]}
    DO NOT DELETE.............................

    Original Text

    From: [fix this: Fewer 59 buses in morning rush hour? email]
    To: [Transport for London problem reporting email]
    <[email address]>
    CC: [email address] <[email address]>
    Sent: 09.05.12 13:25:03
    Subject: Fewer 59 buses in morning rush hour?

    Dear Transport for London,

    There seem to be far fewer buses on the 59 route recently than
    for
    other services eg: 159/133 between 8am - 8.30 am weekdays.

    The extended intervals between buses mean that they are
    frequently
    full when arriving (often not stopping) at the Vassall Road
    stop.

    It seems to be a popular route therefore I would think the
    solution
    could be at least one more bus/smaller intervals?

    I would welcome any feedback on this issue

    Sarah Thompson

    ------------------

    Here is some information from FixMyTransport about the location
    of
    this issue:

    Location name: Number 59 bus route

    Area: In London

    ----------

    To view a map of the precise location of this problem, or to
    provide an update on the problem, please visit the following
    link:

    http://www.fixmytransport.com/campaigns/...

    [ PLEASE NOTE: Your replies to this problem report will be sent
    to
    Sarah Thompson and will be published online. This message was
    sent
    via FixMyTransport.com - a not-for-profit service dedicated to
    helping people get public transport problems resolved. If there
    is
    a more appropriate email address for messages about this type of
    problem, please let us know by visiting
    <http://www.fixmytransport.com/feedback>. This will help improve
    the service for people travelling. We also welcome any other
    feedback you may have. ]
Comment
Top of page