FixMyTransport is now closed to new submissions. The site is available as an archive for you to browse, but you can no longer report problems. Find out more…

“Please help me persuade First Great Western Railway to fix this: overcrowding” – normac craddock

Description

normac craddock

i regular travel on the barnstaple to exeter train which is always over crowded. i travelled on the 9.43 on april 11th which was horrendous people were standing two deep all along the train the conductress who was very polite and helpful was unable to come down the train to check tickets. i had to put my suitcase on my knee. everyone was complaining about this service cannot understand why you dont put extra carriages on. when i got to exeter we were fighting to get off to get our connections some having only five minutes to spare. peolple who were travelling on to exmouth would not get off to let us off. absolute nightmare.

Problem History

  • 1 normac craddock reported the issue on FixMyTransport. close 17:14 12 Apr 2012
  • 2 normac craddock wrote to First Great Western Railway close 17:14 12 Apr 2012

    Here is the letter that normac craddock wrote.

    overcrowding

    i regular travel on the barnstaple to exeter train which is always over crowded. i travelled on the 9.43 on april 11th which was horrendous people were standing two deep all along the train the conductress who was very polite and helpful was unable to come down the train to check tickets. i had to put my suitcase on my knee. everyone was complaining about this service cannot understand why you dont put extra carriages on. when i got to exeter we were fighting to get off to get our connections some having only five minutes to spare. peolple who were travelling on to exmouth would not get off to let us off. absolute nightmare.

  • 3 First Group Response responded to normac craddock close 17:21 12 Apr 2012
    Thank you for contacting First Great Western. We confirm receipt of your e-mail and aim to forward a full response within 5 working days. If you have a more urgent issue that needs resolving please telephone on 08457 000125 where we will try to give a faster resolution.

    Please note that you will not be able to reply direct to this email, however if you wish to contact us further by email then please use the address below.

    [email address]
  • 4 FGW Customer Relations responded to normac craddock close 23:47 11 May 2012
    First Great Western
    Customer Services Team
    FREEPOST
    SWB40576
    Plymouth
    PL4 6ZZ

    Tel: 08457 000 125
    Fax: 08456 008 363
    [First Great Western Railway problem reporting email]

    www.firstgreatwestern.co.uk

    Ref: 6514629

    Dear N Craddock

    Thank you for your e-mail regarding the travel conditions that you regularly experience when travelling on the Tarka line, in particular, the 11 April. I am sorry you have had cause to complain. We do not want anyone to travel in the conditions you have described and I am sorry your journey was so uncomfortable.

    Due to a national shortage of rolling stock, coupled with a growing increase in passenger demand, some of our trains do get very busy, especially during public holidays. As we do not insist that every customer specifies which train they travel on (as this would take away the flexibility of rail travel) there is no real way of knowing how many people will travel on any one service.

    If trains get as busy as you describe, we have 2 options. We can either allow customers to continue to board, or refuse boarding and ask them to wait for the next service. Usually we will choose the first option, as the second does not resolve the problem, just moves it to the next train.

    There is actually no current limit to how many passengers we can carry - we judge this service-by-service. Our Train Managers/Conductors are responsible for assessing the situation at each station whilst passengers are boarding and during train dispatch. If they feel that the service is overcrowded, they liaise with our Senior Controller who is aware of the impact any decision will have on our passengers and other services. Together they determine the best course of action to take, which could include missing stops en route or passengers disembarking at a station.

    Some good news is that we have recently announced a deal we have made with the Department for Transport, which means more carriages for our High Speed Trains, increasing capacity on main line services. Once these are in service, it will mean that some Turbo units can then be freed up and used in areas where they are needed the most. This will have a significant impact on crowding and we are delighted to be able to make these improvements for our customers.

    I certainly do note your concerns - the crowding must be upsetting and uncomfortable for you. Where as guidelines tell us that crowded trains are no less safe than quiet trains, we realise it is not pleasant to travel this way and we have been working really hard to address it.

    Thank you again for contacting us and for allowing us the opportunity to explain.

    Yours sincerely

    Lynne Sleep
    Customer Relations Senior Officer

    *** Your feedback is really important to us so we would be very grateful for a couple of moments of your time to complete our customer satisfaction survey. If you would like to participate, please click on the link below. ***

    http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=1M...

    First Greater Western Limited. Registered in England & Wales No. 05113733.
    Registered office: Milford House, 1 Milford Street, Swindon, Wiltshire, SN1 1HL.

    The contents of this email and any associated files are for the addressee only and should be treated as confidential. Unless you are the named addressee you cannot copy, use or disclose it to anyone else. If you have received this email in error please notify the sender immediately. The email has originated from First Great Western.

    First Rail Holdings Limited. Registered in England No. 5154485. Registered office: 50 Eastbourne Terrace, Paddington, London W2 6LG.

    This message is confidential. It may not be disclosed to, or used by, anyone other than the addressee. If you receive this message in error, please advise us immediately.

    Internet email is not necessarily secure. First does not accept responsibility for changes to any email which occur after the email has been sent. Attachments to this email could contain software viruses which could damage your system. First have checked the attachments for viruses before sending, but you should virus-check them before opening.

    For more information on our range of services or to book your tickets online, please visit:- http://www.firstgroup.com
  • 5 normac craddock commented close 18:17 24 May 2012

    wrote to you middle of april and have not received any feedback as far as i am aware the overcrowding is still a problem

  • 6 Peter Dixon commented close 20:21 27 May 2012

    Hello

    A response to your issue was provided late on 11th May. It is available on your FixMyTransport issue page.

    Kind regards

    anorak
    admin
  • 7 normac craddock commented close 19:20 05 Jul 2012

    not heard from you atill today nearly 3 months later

  • 8 Neil Thomas-Childs commented close 21:58 05 Jul 2012

    There is a full reply from FGW on this page.

  • 9 Neil Thomas-Childs commented close 21:59 05 Jul 2012

    It's number four on this page.

  • 10 normac craddock commented close 08:27 18 Aug 2012

    made another journey from barnstaple to exeter and the problem still remains of overcrowding apart from too many people on train there is no where to put your luggage so they were in the aisle or put on seats by the passengers

Comment
  • started 12 April 2012
  • supporters 3
Train route between Barnstaple and Exeter St Davids operated by First Great Western Railway
Problem Reporter
Supporters (3)
Top of page