FixMyTransport is now closed to new submissions. The site is available as an archive for you to browse, but you can no longer report problems. Find out more…

“Please help me persuade Arriva Trains Wales to improve all W. Mids services & tell the truth when there are problems..” – Alan Jones

Description

Alan Jones

0745 was due to go through to Birmingham New Stret, my destination but terminated in Wolverhampton 'due to signalling problems between Wolverhampton and B'ham' we were told. The next train, only a few minutes later was the same company, Arrive, but Cros Country and this went to B'ham. Why didn't the original train.

Alan Jones

Problem History

  • 1 Alan Jones reported the issue on FixMyTransport. close 09:18 31 Oct 2013
  • 2 Alan Jones wrote to Arriva Trains Wales close 09:18 31 Oct 2013

    Here is the letter that Alan Jones wrote.

    Change trains at Wolverhampton.

    0745 was due to go through to Birmingham New Stret, my destination but terminated in Wolverhampton 'due to signalling problems between Wolverhampton and B'ham' we were told. The next train, only a few minutes later was the same company, Arrive, but Cros Country and this went to B'ham. Why didn't the original train.

    Alan Jones

  • 3 Customer Relations responded to Alan Jones close 09:53 01 Nov 2013
    Thank you for contacting Arriva Trains Wales. Your message has
    been received and assigned the reference number  ATW-131031-KGV.

    Our usual target response time is ten working days, and we aim
    to provide you with a full reply within this timescale. If you
    have any queries in connection with your case, then please
    contact us on 08456 061 660. We're open between 8am and 8pm
    Mondays to Saturdays, or 11am until 8pm on Sundays.

    Please note that our role is primarily to investigate and
    respond to comments, complaints and suggestions regarding Arriva
    Trains Wales services. If you are planning a journey and need to
    find out times and fares, or to check if there is any disruption
    to services, please visit [1]www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk
    or [2]www.nationalrail.co.uk.

    Yours Sincerely

    Customer Relations

    Arriva Trains Wales 

    Diolch am gysylltu â Threnau Arriva Cymru. Mae’ch neges wedi
    cael ei derbyn a rhoddwyd iddi’r rhif cyfeirnod ATW-131031-KGV.

    Deg diwrnod gwaith yw’r amser ymateb rydym yn anelu ato fel
    arfer, a’n nod yw rhoi ateb llawn i chi cyn pen y cyfnod hwn. Os
    oes gennych unrhyw ymholiadau ynglŷn â’ch achos, cysylltwch â ni
    ar 08456 061 660. Rydym ar agor rhwng 8am ac 8pm o ddydd Llun i
    ddydd Sadwrn, neu rhwng 11am ac 8pm ar ddyddiau Sul.

    Nodwch mai ein swyddogaeth yn bennaf yw ymchwilio ac ymateb i
    sylwadau, cwynion ac awgrymiadau am wasanaethau Trenau Arriva
    Cymru. Os ydych chi’n cynllunio taith ac angen cael amserau a
    chostau tocynnau, neu holi a oes unrhyw darfu ar wasanaethau,
    ewch i [3]www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk
    neu [4]www.nationalrail.co.uk.

    Yn gywir

    Cysylltiadau Cwsmeriaid

    Trenau Arriva Cymru

    show quoted sections

    References

    Visible links
    1. http://www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk/
    2. http://www.nationalrail.co.uk/
    3. http://www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk/
    4. http://www.nationalrail.co.uk/
  • 4 Customer Relations responded to Alan Jones close 13:51 11 Nov 2013
    Link: [1]File-List
    Link: [2]Edit-Time-Data
    Link: [3]themeData
    Link: [4]colorSchemeMapping

    11 November 2013

    Your Case Reference: ATW-131031-KGV

    Dear Mr Jones

    Thank you for your e-mail which has been received via
    FixmyTransport.com.

    Receiving feedback from our customers is important to us, and I
    am grateful for you taking time to report these issues. However,
    we would ask any customer wishing to log an issue with us to
    make direct contact with us, rather than submit it to us via a
    third party.

    Our e-mail address is
    [email address].

    We look forward to hearing from you in due course.

    Yours sincerely

    Sue Anzeze

    Customer Relations Advisor

    Arriva Trains Wales

    Tel 0845 6061 660

    E-mail [email address]

    Web www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk

    show quoted sections

    References

    Visible links
    1. file:///tmp/19859373-6faa-4694-be16-9b546ea28a78_files/filelist.xml
    2. file:///tmp/19859373-6faa-4694-be16-9b546ea28a78_files/editdata.mso
    3. file:///tmp/19859373-6faa-4694-be16-9b546ea28a78_files/themedata.thmx
    4. file:///tmp/19859373-6faa-4694-be16-9b546ea28a78_files/colorschememapping.xml
  • 5 Alan Jones commented close 08:16 16 Dec 2013

    A further problem occured on Saturday 14th Dec when I went to get the ATW 05.35 train to Birmingham New Street. The London Midland 05.42 stopping servive came first, 'due to some ATW operating problem at Shrewsbury'. The ATW problems continue!!

  • 6 Rory Jackson commented close 15:54 15 Jan 2014

    Dear Alan,

    I'm currently working on a Channel 4 documentary about customer services. We are looking for people who are having transport issues.

    Please get in touch using my email rory.jackson@dragonfly.tv and I can tell you more.

    Kind Regards,

    Rory

  • 7 Alan Jones commented close 08:57 28 Jan 2014

    Whilst most trains are 4 car, there are still occasions where only 2 are used. What makes the matter more ridiculous is that there are two 6 car trains during off peak times, whilst peak trains are 4 car at best. Air conditioning is still suspect so there will be the same old problems when the warmer weather arrives!!

  • 8 Alan Jones commented close 09:14 03 Apr 2014

    Despite ATW saying that the air conditioning units would be reconditioned, they clearly have not been.
    The air con does work on most class 158 units until the weather warms up as was shown on Tuesday last, 1st April when the front set of the 17:42 from Wolverhampton clearly had no air conditioning.
    A further complaint to ATW will follow.

  • 9 Alan Jones asked for advice. close 09:16 03 Apr 2014

    Are train operating companies obliged to ensure air conditioning and toilets are operating on their trains?

  • 10 Alan Jones wrote to Arriva Trains Wales close 09:20 03 Apr 2014

    Air conditioning in front set of the 17:42 Chester service from Wolverhampton was not working on Tuesday 1st April.
    You had previously told me that all class 158 air conditioning units were to be reconditioned, clearly that has not happened!!

    Alan Jones

  • 11 Alan Jones added an update close 09:22 03 Apr 2014

    Clearly ATW do not care how uncomfortable passengers are when the air conditioning does not function correctly.

  • 12 Customer Relations responded to Alan Jones close 09:24 03 Apr 2014
    Thank you for contacting Arriva Trains Wales. Your message has
    been received and assigned the reference number  ATW-140403-006.

    Our usual target response time is 10 working days, however
    following the recent severe weather we have received a high
    volume of correspondence and email. As a result it may take us
    up to 15 working days to provide you with a response. We thank
    you for your patience during this time and please be assured we
    are doing all we can to reply to all customers as quickly as
    possible.

    Please note that our role is primarily to investigate and
    respond to comments, complaints and suggestions regarding Arriva
    Trains Wales services. If you are planning a journey and need to
    find out times and fares, or to check if there is any disruption
    to services, please visit [1]www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk
    or [2]www.nationalrail.co.uk.

    In addition, if your enquiry relates to recruitment your email
    will not be responded to, however please visit
    [3]www.comeaboard.co.uk where all of our current vacancies will
    be advertised.

    Yours Sincerely

    Customer Relations

    Arriva Trains Wales 

    Diolch am gysylltu â Threnau Arriva Cymru. Mae’ch neges wedi
    cael ei derbyn a rhoddwyd iddi’r rhif cyfeirnod ATW-140403-006.

    Yn arferol, rydym yn bwriadu ymateb o fewn 10 diwrnod gwaith,
    fodd bynnag, yn dilyn y tywydd gwael diweddar rydym wedi gweld
    cynnydd mewn gohebiaeth ac o ganlyniad, gellir cymryd hyda at 15
    diwrnod gwaith i ateb. Rydym yn gwneud popeth o fewn ein gallu i
    ymateb bob cwsmer cyn gynted ag sy’n bosib ond rydym yn
    ddiolchgar i chi am eich amynedd parhad yn ystod y cyfnod hwn.

    Nodwch mai ein swyddogaeth yn bennaf yw ymchwilio ac ymateb i
    sylwadau, cwynion ac awgrymiadau am wasanaethau Trenau Arriva
    Cymru. Os ydych chi’n cynllunio taith ac angen cael amserau a
    chostau tocynnau, neu holi a oes unrhyw darfu ar wasanaethau,
    ewch i [4]www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk
    neu [5]www.nationalrail.co.uk.

    Yn ogystal ar uchod, os yw eich ymholiad yn ymwneud â recriwtio,
    ni fydd eich e-bost yn cael ei ymateb gan yr adran hon. Os
    gwelwch yn dda ewch i [6]www.comeaboard.co.uk lle mae ein holl
    swyddi gwag yn cael eu hysbysebu.

    Yn gywir

    Cysylltiadau Cwsmeriaid

    Trenau Arriva Cymru

    show quoted sections

    References

    Visible links
    1. http://www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk/
    2. http://www.nationalrail.co.uk/
    3. http://www.comeaboard.co.uk/
    4. http://www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk/
    5. http://www.nationalrail.co.uk/
    6. http://www.comeaboard.co.uk/
  • 13 Mark Jones commented close 13:06 04 Apr 2014

    Alan

    Arriva Trains Wales are not at fault for signalling issues that affect the railway, that responsibility lies with Network Rail, Arriva Trains Wales do have contingency plans for if there are any delays between Wolberhampton and Birrmingham, and while it may seem like they should send the service on in reality they will get fined for running a late service. CrossCountry however will have continued to run the service as there is sufficient slack time in the timetable to allow for the train to be late, without affecting the rest of the journey.

    It is a frequent occurrence unfortunately, but I believe Arriva make the decision based on the fact that if that train was to head back to Aberystwyth late it'd have a serious effect on the single line working they use between Shrewsbury and Aberystwyth.

    I know this doesn't fully answer your complaint, but there is a lot that goes on behind the scenes to continue to keep trains running on time, even if it means cancelling services.

    anorak
    admin
  • 14 Customer Relations responded to Alan Jones close 13:01 19 Apr 2014
    Link: [1]File-List
    Link: [2]Edit-Time-Data
    Link: [3]themeData
    Link: [4]colorSchemeMapping

    19 April 2014

    Your Case Reference: ATW-140403-006

    Dear Mr Jones

    Thank you for contacting Arriva Trains Wales regarding air
    conditioning on one of our trains on 1^st April, and I am sorry
    to hear that the system was not functioning when you travelled,
    and I apologise for this.

    I will send a copy of your complaint over to our Fleet
    Management so they can review your comments and address any
    issues, if not already sorted.

    In the meantime, if you have any further queries or comments
    about your case then please do not hesitate to contact me
    directly.

    Yours sincerely

    Paul Ramsell

    Customer Relations Advisor

    Arriva Trains Wales

    Tel 08456 061 660

    E-mail [email address]

    Twitter @ArrivaTW

    Web www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk

    Address St MaryÂ’s House, 47 Penarth Road, Cardiff, CF10 5DJ

    show quoted sections

    References

    Visible links
    1. file:///tmp/4f6bddad-c1e2-4a49-b2fa-65fecdd4269c_files/filelist.xml
    2. file:///tmp/4f6bddad-c1e2-4a49-b2fa-65fecdd4269c_files/editdata.mso
    3. file:///tmp/4f6bddad-c1e2-4a49-b2fa-65fecdd4269c_files/themedata.thmx
    4. file:///tmp/4f6bddad-c1e2-4a49-b2fa-65fecdd4269c_files/colorschememapping.xml
  • 15 Alan Jones commented close 11:08 16 May 2014

    2 of 3 ATW Class 158 sets I used yesterday had no air conditioning working. This despite ATW saying they were refurbishing all air conditioning units. Clearly, they have not done so. As a company, they are a disgrace and should look at Scotrail or Chiltern for examples in good customer relations.

  • 16 Alan Jones commented close 11:06 27 Jun 2014

    Still intermittent problems with 'short' trains. Air conditioning often still not workinh, despite promoses by ATW that the air con unite were to have been refurbished!!

  • 17 Alan Jones commented close 07:15 11 Aug 2014

    Very little improvement in air conditioning. Single set trains instead of double much worse over the last week.

  • 18 Alan Jones commented close 14:10 11 Dec 2014

    The situation is far worse at present due to events at the NEC and the German Market in Birmingham.

Comment
  • started 31 October 2013
  • supporters 1
Train route between Wellington (Shropshire) and Wolverhampton
Problem Reporter
Supporters (1)
Top of page