FixMyTransport is now closed to new submissions. The site is available as an archive for you to browse, but you can no longer report problems. Find out more…

“Please help me persuade First South Yorkshire to please help me so that the operator doesn't move bus stop to outside of cemetry” – David Jones

Description

David Jones

Dear Sir
I don't know if I am sending this to the right people but here goes anyway. It concerns the location of the bus stop on Main Street, Catcliffe. Just recently during roadworks the bus stop was moved temporarily to outside the cemetry of St Mary's church. I have been told by a number of people that this location is to become permanent. The reason I have contacted you is, my wife died last year and her ashes are buried right in front of where the temporary bus stop was. My wife's passing is still very raw with me and I go down regular to spend some time with her and this can get emotional at times. Imagine how I felt when I went down on would have been our wedding anniversary to tend her grave and spend some time with her, when people who were waiting for a bus and gawking over the wall at me. It was a very emotional day and I was devastated not to be able to spend a bit of peace and quiet at her garve side. It was made worse by every few minutes a bus pulling up and all the passengers on board gawking too. I am pleading to you not to make the bus stop location permanent, not just for me but for other relatives who have their loved ones buried there.
Gratefully Dave Jones

Problem History

  • 1 David Jones reported the issue on FixMyTransport. close 11:29 17 Sep 2012
  • 2 David Jones wrote to First South Yorkshire close 11:29 17 Sep 2012

    Here is the letter that David Jones wrote.

    location of bus stop

    Dear Sir
    I don't know if I am sending this to the right people but here goes anyway. It concerns the location of the bus stop on Main Street, Catcliffe. Just recently during roadworks the bus stop was moved temporarily to outside the cemetry of St Mary's church. I have been told by a number of people that this location is to become permanent. The reason I have contacted you is, my wife died last year and her ashes are buried right in front of where the temporary bus stop was. My wife's passing is still very raw with me and I go down regular to spend some time with her and this can get emotional at times. Imagine how I felt when I went down on would have been our wedding anniversary to tend her grave and spend some time with her, when people who were waiting for a bus and gawking over the wall at me. It was a very emotional day and I was devastated not to be able to spend a bit of peace and quiet at her garve side. It was made worse by every few minutes a bus pulling up and all the passengers on board gawking too. I am pleading to you not to make the bus stop location permanent, not just for me but for other relatives who have their loved ones buried there.
    Gratefully Dave Jones

  • 3 [email address] responded to David Jones close 15:05 17 Sep 2012
    Dear Mr Jones

    Thank you for your email via Fix My Transport.

    Please be advised it is South Yorkshire Passenger Transport Executive who
    are responsible for bus stops. I have therefore forwarded your email
    directly to them and you will have someone respond to you soon.

    I hope the information provided is of assistance to you.

    Best Regards
    Amanda Maybury

    David Jones
    <campaign-djz-cfq
    daa@fixmytranspor To
    t.com> [First South Yorkshire problem reporting email]
    cc
    17/09/2012 11:30
    Subject
    location of bus stop

    Dear First South Yorkshire,

    Dear Sir I don't know if I am sending this to the right people but
    here goes anyway. It concerns the location of the bus stop on Main
    Street, Catcliffe. Just recently during roadworks the bus stop was
    moved temporarily to outside the cemetry of St Mary's church. I
    have been told by a number of people that this location is to
    become permanent. The reason I have contacted you is, my wife died
    last year and her ashes are buried right in front of where the
    temporary bus stop was. My wife's passing is still very raw with me
    and I go down regular to spend some time with her and this can get
    emotional at times. Imagine how I felt when I went down on would
    have been our wedding anniversary to tend her grave and spend some
    time with her, when people who were waiting for a bus and gawking
    over the wall at me. It was a very emotional day and I was
    devastated not to be able to spend a bit of peace and quiet at her
    garve side. It was made worse by every few minutes a bus pulling up
    and all the passengers on board gawking too. I am pleading to you
    not to make the bus stop location permanent, not just for me but
    for other relatives who have their loved ones buried there.
    Gratefully Dave Jones

    ------------------

    Here is some information from FixMyTransport about the location of
    this issue:

    Location name: Number 32 bus route

    Area: Between Rotherham and Sheffield

    ----------

    To view a map of the precise location of this problem, or to
    provide an update on the problem, please visit the following link:

    http://www.fixmytransport.com/campaigns/...

    [ PLEASE NOTE: Your replies to this problem report will be sent to
    David Jones and will be published online. This message was sent via
    FixMyTransport.com - a not-for-profit service dedicated to helping
    people get public transport problems resolved. If there is a more
    appropriate email address for messages about this type of problem,
    please let us know by visiting
    <http://www.fixmytransport.com/feedback>. This will help improve
    the service for people travelling. We also welcome any other
    feedback you may have. ]

    Follow the Injury Prevention Principles. IF YOU CANNOT DO IT SAFELY, DON'T
    DO IT.
  • 4 David Jones commented close 11:14 30 Oct 2012

    This exerciise was a complete waste of time. I contacted SYPTE and Rotherham council and both were going to get back to me . Did they? A resounding no !!!. I also contacted the vicar of St. Marys. Did he get back to me?. Again a resounding no !!!!. This "FixMyTransport" is just another money wasting quango with no powers to get anything done.
    disgusted
    D. Jones

  • 5 Peter Dixon commented close 17:08 31 Oct 2012

    Hello David

    I am one of the FixMyTransport volunteers

    I am sorry to hear that Travel South Yorkshire, Rotherham Council and the vicar have not come back to you. My advice would be to remind them again that you have contacted them and that you are still waiting for a response.

    I would also suggest that you contact your local Councillors. A simple method is to use WritetoThem, which makes it easy to do this.

    http://www.writetothem.com/

    FixMyTransport is not part of any Government Quango or department. It was built by mySociety, which is a charity.

    http://www.mysociety.org/

    Kind regards

    anorak
    admin
Comment
Top of page